On January 17, Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al-Maktoum, Vice President, Prime Minister and Ruler of Dubai, presented awards to the 10 winners of the 2022 Zayed Prize for Sustainability.

The awards ceremony coincided with the start of Abu Dhabi Sustainability Week 2022. The ceremony was also attended by Sheikh Maktoum bin Mohammed bin Rashid Al-Maktoum, Deputy Governor of Dubai, Deputy -Prime Minister and Minister of Finance.

Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al-Maktoum congratulated the winners in all five categories, reaffirming the prize’s key role in fulfilling participants’ aspirations to achieve sustainable development within their communities.

This year, the Zayed Prize for Sustainability, along with ADSW, partnered with Expo 2020 Dubai to host the ADSW Opening Ceremony and 13th Annual Awards Ceremony, which took both took place at the Dubai Exhibition Centre. The event brought together thousands of participants and more than 600 personalities from around the world, including heads of state, ministers, industry leaders and national ambassadors, among others.

In his address at the awards ceremony, Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid said: “The UAE continues to make significant progress and contribute to advancing the global sustainable development agenda to drive economic and human development. sustainable, under the leadership of President Sheikh Khalifa bin Zayed Al-Nahyan. . The Zayed Prize for Sustainability remains at the forefront of these efforts as it continues to lead the way to alleviate hardship and improve lives by rewarding impact and innovation through a platform that can reach a number many more beneficiaries.

The $3 million prize is the UAE’s pioneering sustainability award that recognizes small and medium-sized enterprises, non-profit organizations and global high schools for their innovative, impactful and inspiring humanitarian and sustainability solutions. Thanks to its 86 past winners, the prize has transformed the lives of more than 370 million people, in 150 countries, since 2008. In the Health, Food, Energy and Water categories, each winner receives $600,000, while the category Global High Schools has six winners, representing six regions of the world, with each winner receiving up to $100,000.

In the Health category, Argentina Mamotest was recognized for its efforts to increase access to diagnostics and life-saving services in teleradiology and teleanalysis.

S4S Technologies of India was the winner in the Food category for its work in food preservation and dehydration systems. They currently directly impact 35,820 people and the SME plans to increase this to 10 million people over five years.

In the Energy category, Bangladesh-based SOLshare created an interconnected micro-grid for peer-to-peer energy trading networks to enable more efficient distribution of electricity to rural communities across the country.

Wateroam, an SME from Singapore, won the Water category for its commitment to addressing the global challenge of contaminated water through portable water filters to serve disaster-stricken and rural communities.

The six winners in the Global High Schools category are: Instituto Iberia (Dominican Republic), representing the Americas; Liceo Europeo (Spain), representing Europe and Central Asia; Eastern Mediterranean School (Israel), representing the Middle East and North Africa region; Sayidina Abubakar Secondary School (Uganda), representing sub-Saharan Africa; Hira School (Maldives), representing South Asia, and UWC ISAK (Japan) representing East Asia and the Pacific.